Felinfoel Field Trip
The sun shone on LCH members once again for a Field Trip at Felinfoel on Sunday, 7th June 2015. We met at Adulam Chapel (founded by Baptists in 1709, rebuilt in the classic style in 1840). Then Lyn John took us past the old entrance to Felinfoel House (c1803-1978), down the hill and across the fast-flowing Lliedi where it runs past the picturesque site of the old mill (felin). The mill which gave the village its name may have been there as early as 1399, but the later structure, modified over the years, was demolished in 1973.The Rebecca Rioters of 1843 got a mention, as they always seem to in Llanelly. They demanded and got free drinks at a Felinfoel pub from an understandably intimidated publican.
A quick dash across the road (busy for a Sunday) and we were in the peace and quiet of Holy Trinity Churchyard and the nearby Church School (1863-1969).
Where the Lliedi ducks under the road just below the church we saw the Baptismal Pool created by the Baptists of Adulam for the ceremony which is so dear to them.
Felinfoel Brewery was our next stop, not unfortunately open for tastings, and then it was back up the hill to Adulam.
The walk could be done in five or possibly ten minutes, but we were happy to spend a relaxing and informative hour-and-a half wandering along behind Lyn listening to his entertaining and erudite commentary.